Guys…it’s been a hot minute. I’m sorry I got a little sidetracked and was struggling to find a good song for this day. But I think I got one, so let’s do this AND continue to do this!

When My Time Comes – Dawes

Thoughts:
So like I mentioned I really struggled with this one, I have no clue why. Every song felt forced. Originally the first songs that came to mind where all Fall Out Boy songs: Grand Theft Autumn, Alone Together, Miss Missing You, etc., etc. Mostly songs from my youth or songs I know all the words to because when you know the words to a song you just can’t sing the song, you got to crank up the volume and belt it out. Because you know the song and you need everyone to know that you do because you’re just THAT badass, obviously. But on Thursday I had the pleasure of attending, An Evening with Dawes (front row, great crowd, low-key fell in love with Taylor (sorry Mandy Moore), high-key one of the best concerts evahh).. Anyways… they played this song and it hit me. This is it, this is the song I ALWAYS play AND sing loud, so how could I not choose this song?!

Memory:
The first time I saw Dawes I had never heard of them before. I went to Gentlemen of the Road in Salida (best decision of my life to attend that festival..btw) and they played the first night, right before Flaming Lips…maybe? There were these three or four guys in front of me who were there to see them and then this group of girls who stood next to me. One girl in particular was super stoked to be there (her friends even mentioned driving a few hours just so she could see them). And when they came out it was like the best day of her life and it was just the raddest thing to witness. She was singing, dancing, and possibly a few tears might of fallen; it was so cool.

I’m really bad when it comes to concerts. What I mean by that is I like a band before I see them in concert (most of the time), I know “enough” about them and their songs. BUT I always leave a bigger fan than I came in being; 9 times out of 10. No…maybe 10 times out of 10. Because I REALLY love Mumford & Sons but I left those shows loving them even more than I did before the show (somehow). My point is I like to go to shows for the music/artists (obviously) but I also like to go to watch the fans. The people who love these people with all there hearts and know all the words and are like…just so happy to be there. Ahh, it’s one of my favorite things! It warms my heart and just makes me really happy. I know that feeling but it’s a very intimate, vulnerable, personal feeling I don’t openly display. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve watched YouTube videos of my favorite artists low-key tearing up saying, “I love them! They’re so great! I just want to hug them! D’awww!” So I love seeing people like that at concerts.

Back to Dawes, haha, so this girl loved them and was having the time of her life. And I’m sitting there thinking these guys are pretty good. Their fans LOVE them for good reason, they’re amazing. And I wanted to share in this girl’s intense love for them. I don’t know her, don’t even know her name but I want to connect with her and this band because look at her. You see someone love something so fully and you want to be apart of it and share that love as well (that sounds weird…whatever). So I came home after that trip and bought all their albums; which is rare for me. I’m usually a song here, a song there, kind of person (I know..I know, I’m the worst). But Dawes was just great, I loved it all, I wanted it all, I got it; it all made sense. Dawes makes great music, they put on a great show, and I bet any Dawes fan you come across is a really rad, really cool, awesome person (I say that because I recently found out two of my favorite people love them and I was like of course you do, you have great taste in music! Not because I like Dawes…come one guys give me more credit than that). Did this get weird? A little bit? Sorry guys…

Uhh song story short…this song needs to be played loud and you have to sing the chorus loud. You just have to.

Favorite Line:
“You can judge the whole world on the sparkle that you think it lacks… You can stare into the abyss but it’s staring right back…”

