Thrash Unreal – Against Me!

Thoughts:
I’m going to be honest the first song that came to mind when I was thinking of a song for Day 8 was Love Me by Lil Wayne. But gave it some more thought and felt this song better suits the day and me. I recently read LJG’s book, Tranny: Confessions of Punk Rock’s Most Infamous Anarchist Sellout, and if I remember correctly she worked at a bar with this lady many years back and this song is kind of about her. After closing they would hangout, drink, do drugs, hookup, and listen to music while they were closing the bar for the night.

I LOVE Against Me! and LJG. So much love in my heart for them. I’ve seen them twice in concert and both times were so amazing. They were doing a meet and greet at a record shop the next town over and I wanted to go so bad. I just wanted to hug all of them and tell them I think they are great and thank them. I wouldn’t of wanted an autograph, maybe not even a picture just wanted to hug them and thank them. I didn’t end up making it out there though. Probably for the best, I would of ended up just smiling at them, not saying anything, nod my head, and then walk away. Hahaha.

Memory:
Oh Against Me! you are the foundation of one of my friendships and for that I am grateful. A few years ago I was working a summer job in another state. There was this one guy who had worked there a few summers and I really liked him. It was definitely one of those rare moments where you just like someone the instant you meet them, with nothing to go off of but the vibe they put out. We started talking about the music we like because I just want to know what/who everyone likes and why, when it comes to music because it’s both fascinating and insightful. We both really loved Against Me! and Mumford & Sons (which someone this year told me is an interesting combo because they both happen to be two of my favorite bands). He had been a fan of there’s forever. I had just recently discovered them a year or two prior thanks to this girl I watched on YouTube. Honestly at the time I think I only knew and loved Thrash Unreal. Which is funny for two reasons: 1) I had developed this weird habit that summer where if I felt uncomfortable or didn’t know what to do (90% of the time) I would scratch the underside of my elbow. When my friend noticed I was doing this he referenced this song, “when people see the track marks on her arms, she knows what they are thinking” because it looked like I was trying to hide something (I wasn’t btw). 2) A few months ago, he was introducing me to one of his friends and he said this song was essentially the reason we became friends.

Anyways, we bonded over our love for Against Me! and our friendship just grew from there. I’m not the best at keeping in touch with people but here we are today still friends. Both shows I’ve gone to were with him. I guess you could say it’s like our unofficial “thing”. It’s because of him I love a lot of the bands I love today; Gaslight Anthem and The Black Keys are prime examples. So this song is near and dear to my heart. It kicked off the start of a beautiful friendship and helped grow my love for Against Me! in general.

Favorite Line:
“This night is gonna end when we’re damn well ready for it to be over. Worked all week long, now the music is playing on our time. Yeah, we do what we do to get by, and then we need a release”

